Recently I have been ‘coerced’ (in a good way, though) to watch the works of the lovely Audrey Hepburn, whom I have only been vaguely acquainted with before this. Yes, I knew she was the actress who made Truman Capote’s novella a Hollywood success, and hers was the face I’ve seen on all the black and white posters of her in her iconic little black dress. And though I was familiar with many of the songs from My Fair Lady, which I had been introduced to during my school days, I just realized that I had no recollection of the film at all. I had even thought that it was Julie Andrews who was in it! :p

Watching My Fair Lady again (or could it actually be for the first time??) was nothing short of a treat. It was pure enjoyment to watch how the transformation of Eliza Doolitle, from a Cockney working class girl to being a ‘lady’, was brought about by the pompous Professor Henry Higgins. I love the wit and humour in their dialogues (the songs were great, too!), and found myself smiling almost throughout the entire 175 minutes of the film. To think that Hepburn was snubbed of an Oscar nomination just because the producer had decided to use a professional singing voice for Eliza’s songs, is a gross injustice to Hepburn, to say the least. Personally, I feel that her performance in the role had certainly surpassed whatever singing talents that were required.

Well, having begun on my belated discovery of this fair lady, I then went on to watch her pair up with Peter O’Toole as they  plot and play together in How To Steal A Million. With Paris as the setting for the story, there was nothing to not love about the film. Comedy, romance, adventure, Paris….. all the ingredients for a delightful piece of work.

 

hepburn - paris always a good idea (bw)Considering the fact that six of her films were set in Paris, I thought that watching an Audrey Hepburn film for Paris in July would be a good idea, too. 🙂

I just came across this very apt description of Ms Hepburn, which simply says it so much better than what I have been trying to :

“Audrey Hepburn was never a Parisienne, yet she embodies what many of us long for when we visit Paris: elegance and wit, grace and style.”

Three films (I managed to watch yet another one – Two For The Road) and a whole lot of trivia later, I can safely say that I am glad for my friend’s persistent efforts. And as for the wonderful Ms Hepburn herself, I can only say that what my ears have heard before, now my eyes have seen.

 

16 thoughts on “A Belated Enchantment

  1. I love Audrey, and especially the movie ‘Sabrina’, which is where your quote comes from. I totally agree, Paris is Always a good iidea! I’m so happy you’ve brought Audrey into Paris in July. Thanks.

    Like

    1. Thanks for taking the trouble to let us have the Paris in July once again this year! It is always such a delight to linger about in all things Parisienne. I will definitely move on to Sabrina, soon! 🙂

      Like

  2. My favorite Audrey Hepburn movies are Charade (with Cary Grant) and Roman Holiday (with Gregory Peck, I think). I’ve always thought she was lovely, but I don’t really know anything about her as a person. I’ll have to look out for a biography.

    Like

    1. I am glad there’s still quite a list of her films to explore and savour! I am thinking of looking for a good biography of hers to read up on too. Seems she is quite a lovely person in real life as well. Let me know if you find a good one. 🙂

      Like

  3. It wouldn’t hurt to revisit some of the Hepburn’s films. I cannot remember when I’ve seen one the last time but I do remember it was Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Strange that I cannot remember if I’ve ever seen My Fair Lady either. Absolutely no idea..

    Like

    1. Definitely wouldn’t hurt. 🙂 I am halfway through watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s now. I love the opening sequence and the music score. I had no idea Moon River was actually from this film. I love the song, and the scene with Audrey singing it while playing the guitar was lovely. And I think it’s time you revisit My Fair Lady again, too. 😀 (hahaha….)

      Like

        1. How impressive! 🙂 Did you pick that song after watching the film? I think I would like to try play that on the harmonica some day…..
          Well, enjoy your date with Audrey! 😉

          Like

  4. Your post fits so well with the stated theme of films set in Paris. I love Charade, but Audrey Hepburn is always delightful, as you say.

    best… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Thanks for stopping by, Louise. Yes, it’s always a good idea to watch one again soon, I’d say. 🙂 I hope I am not overdosing myself with one Hepburn too many….. hahah!

    Like

  6. Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my very favourite films and Audrey Hepburn one of my vary favourite people! I used to have a box set of her DVDs, but no longer have a DVD player, so can’t just watch them any time anymore. I really loved How to Steal a Million – I think I was ill at the time and feeling really down in the dumps. It cheered me right up with its silliness!
    I try and get to Audrey exhibitions when I can (there was a wonderful one at the National Portrait Gallery last year). She’s just one of the most beautiful people, both inside and out! And she has a very interesting back story too.

    Like

    1. Just finished Breakfast at Tiffany’s last night, am glad they gave it a happy ending (unlike the book). And How To Steal A Million was absolutely delightful from beginning to end. I especially liked the part where Audrey was all dressed in black (including the face mask ) sitting at the café waiting to offer her ‘illicit’ proposal to Simon. 😀
      By the way, there’s a pretty good website (ffilms.org) where you can watch Audrey’s films (and other classics) online for free, whenever you are in the mood. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

