long distance runner BW
source

Isnt’t that quite a lovely title for a story? An English love story, for that matter. And it was one of the twenty eight original works by masters of the craft (ie: Elizabeth Bowen, Katherine Mansfield, W. Somerset Maugham, Graham Greene, Thomas Hardy, Virginia Woolf – to name a few) that has been picked and edited by John Sutherland in The Oxford Book of English Love Stories. Plenty of gems to dive into, covering a whole spectrum on the timeless subject of love, and I’m sure it won’t be difficult to find a story that can just fit the mood (and ardour) of the moment. ūüėČ

I had picked the lovely title above as the first story to dip into, mainly because the words had spoken to my imagination and had conjured up a rather promising picture of what the story might be (well, turns out it wasn’t what I had imagined, but I loved it nonetheless!).¬†I was also¬†curious (and surprised) to learn that this piece was by Sara Maitland, whom I have so far only been able to associate her name with non-fiction works. Will definitely look out for her works of fiction too, from now on.

My lover has the most beautiful body in the world. Because she runs. I fell in love with her because she had the most beautiful body I had ever seen. What, when it comes down to it, is the difference between my devouring of her as a sex-object and her competitive running? Anyway, she says that she does not run competitively. Anyway, I say that I do not any longer love her just because she has the most beautiful body.

Leave a Reply

