penguin 5000 miles

Did you all hear of the story about the South American Magellanic penguin who swims 5,000 miles each year to be reunited with the man who saved his life?

It is one of the most heartwarming stories I’ve come across in a long while.

I think we all need to have more stories like this to be reminded  every once in a while, that the world can indeed be a much kinder place, if only we are willing to go the extra mile for a fellow living being, in need of a helping hand.

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Goes A Long Way

  1. I loved this story when I came across it on Facebook, but all I can think about is what happens if the penguin outlives his human friend? He will come back and not understand why his friend isn’t there. Having a dog has made me so soppy and prone to anthropomorphism that it seems to break my heart on a daily basis.

    Like

  2. You know, that was exactly what I had though too, when I learned of the fisherman’s age…. and it reminded me of the stories of Hachiko in Japan (the dog who waited daily at the railway station for his master to return, even after the master had died while at work) and Greyfriars Bobby in Edinburgh. Stories like these never cease to break my heart too. I recently read someone’s comment somewhere about not wanting to have another pet because she can’t bear the pain of outliving another animal friend again. And then someone else responded by saying that he would rather be the one to outlive his animal friend because painful as it may be, it is even more unbearable to imagine the animal’s predicament in regards to dealing with the loss of its human. I couldn’t agree more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

