NY2015cHappy New Year, everyone!

The old has gone, and the new has come.  As usual, I didn’t managed to read quite as many books as I had wanted to, but bought a good deal more books than I had planned for, in the past year. And as always, I will still strive to do the reverse this year, with hopefully better results.

Nevertheless, I was thrilled to have made acquaintance with a few writers that were new to me in 2014.  It was a pleasure to have discovered the writings of William Maxwell, Primo Levi, Javier Marias and Patrick Modiano. I will definitely be looking out for more of these writers’ works in the days ahead. The anticipation alone is exciting enough in itself. 🙂

The stack pictured above is the possible reading choices that I am likely to start the year off with. These are the ones that seem to be calling out to me at the moment. Am especially looking forward to the Ishiguro and the Nichols.

The Remains of The Day by Kazuo Ishiguro.
Down The Garden Path by Beverley Nichols.
A Little History of British Gardening by Jenny Uglow.
Bleak House by Charles Dickens.

What about the rest of you? Which would be the first book you reach out for to mark this new reading year?

Whichever your choice might be, I wish you all a happy reading year, filled with all the bookish goodness that one can possibly find! 🙂

NY2015d
Have been trying to remedy my bout of flu with some good old fashioned murder mystery and mushroom soup. By the way, I just love the cover of this Agatha Christie. I must confess, I bought the book solely on the strength of its cover, really.

 

13 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Hope you feel better soon and happy new year! Beverley Nichols is just wonderful – one of my favourite authors. I think his writing would make you feel better without any meds or soup! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hope you’re already in a good health, Michelle.
    Happy New Year. Wish you many delightful reading hours!
    I am entering this year with Sense and Sensibility – felt a powerful urge to return to it. To many other as well! This year will see a lot of rereading. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the well wishes, Anna. Am on the mend 🙂
      Wishing you many happy hours of reading, and rereading! I still find that I can’t afford to reread when there are so many that are as yet unread.:p Someday, hopefully….

      Like

Leave a Reply

