Du Maurier memoir 1Look what I found while waiting to board the train home after a short trip back to my mum’s hometown over the weekend! Of all places, there happened to be a small offering of books for sale going at bargain prices, right in the centre of the busy central station. What a pleasant surprise! πŸ™‚

Du Maurier memoir 2Du Maurier memoir 3

I never knew that Daphne du Maurier wrote this pictorial memoir which was completed just shortly before her death in 1989. I was aware though, of her other book ‘Vanishing Cornwall’ which also paid tribute to the beauty of the place that had played a major part in shaping her, both as a writer and a person.

Du Maurier memoir (a)

Personally, I consider Cornwall to be my favourite corner of the UK, too. There’s just something very special about the rugged landscape and the raw beauty of the place. It is without doubt, a corner of the world I would love to be able to return to again and again, if ever I am so blessed with the opportunity to do so.

I can’t wait to get started on the book and be carried away to ‘Enchanted Cornwall’! πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “An unexpected find….

    1. Yes, it certainly is most fun to find surprises like that. πŸ™‚
      I look forward to exploring it too, as well as some of her other short stories and writings which have been sitting on the shelves for some time now.

      Like

  1. A delightful discovery. Hope you enjoy your new treasure. I would love to visit Cornwall in person, but will probably have to settle for doing so in print for a while.

    Like

Leave a Reply

