Writing in a diary is a really strange experience for someone like me. Not only because I’ve never written anything before, but also because it seems to me that later on neither I nor anyone else will be interested in the musings of a thirteen-year old school girl. Oh well, it doesn’t matter. I feel like writing.

 Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl.

Wasn’t it a good thing that young Anne decided to write just because she felt like writing? Otherwise, we would never have had the privilege to read these personal diaries of hers, which gives us a glimpse at one of the most moving and eloquent accounts of the Holocaust. One can’t help but be amazed at the level of profundity and insight that this thirteen year old was capable of penning down, amidst her struggles to come to terms with the turbulence that is taking place both in her inner and outer world.

I mean, how many other thirteen year olds have you come across, when found under similar circumstances as Anne, could come up with thoughts such as these:

 The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be.

 How true Daddy’s words were when he said: all children must look after their own upbringing. Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.

 How lovely to think that no one need wait a moment, we can start now, start slowly changing the world! How lovely that everyone, great and small, can make their contribution toward introducing justice straightaway… And you can always, always give something, even if it is only kindness!

It is little wonder then to find that the Anne Frank Huis (house) in Amsterdam is  always thronged with scores of visitors from all over the world. Many who have either read or heard of the story of Anne Frank would drop in for a visit with the hope of being able to experience and share Anne’s story in a more vivid manner, in this house where Anne (together with seven others) went into hiding for more than two years.

The long queue of visitors going into the Anne Frank Huis (Museum entrance).
To avoid the long queues, make sure you book your tickets online. Then all you need to do is just to ring a bell and a separate entrance will be opened for you.
No. 267 Prinsengracht (the Secret Annex where Anne and her family hid).
View from across the Prinsengracht canal.
We were actually sitting on this bench across the canal while taking a break after a stroll at the nearby morning market, when we noticed the long line of people queing up in front of the building. At that point, we didn’t realise that it was the Anne Frank House we were looking at.

The Anne Frank House is described as a museum with a story.

And what a story it is.

A voice within me is sobbing, “You see that’s what’s become of you. You’re surrounded by negative opinions, dismayed looks and mocking faces, people who dislike you, and all because you don’t listen to the advice of your own better half.” Believe me, I’d like to listen, but it doesn’t work, because if I’m quiet and serious, everyone thinks I’m putting on a new act and I have to save myself with a joke, and then I’m not even talking about my own family, who assume I must be sick, stuff me with aspirins and setatives, feel my neck and forehead to see if I have a temperature, ask about my bowel movements and berate me for being in a bad mood, until I just can’t keep it up anymore, because when everybody starts hovering over me, I get cross, then sad, an finally end up turning my heart inside out, the bad part on the outside and the good part on the inside, and keep trying to find a way to become what I’d like to be and what I could be if . . . if only there were no other people in the world.

Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl.

4 thoughts on “The Diary of a Young Girl

  1. I read this book when I was only about twelve and I can remember it breaking my heart a number of times, this book is one of the few treasures that came out of such a terrible time. Reading this book I also found a new respect for the Jewish community and their strength. Amazing read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

