After putting up my post on the Cotswolds last week, I just felt that one post was insufficient to do the villages proper justice. And since I still have quite a few pretty pictures to share, I thought I will continue with that today if you don’t mind. 😉

I have also pulled out my much-treasured copy of Villages of Britain by Clive Aslet to go with this post. This was one of my best finds for last year and quite unexpected too.  I had been keeping a lookout for a copy of this for quite some time after having acquired another book of his, The English House : The story of a nation at home, at a sale last year. That is one of the most physically beautiful books I have ever owned. I just love the dust jacket and the illustrations in there!

Anyway, back to the Villages of Britain, which although was found without its dust jacket, is still a rather beautiful specimen to add to your shelves. I love dipping into the book and picking on a village to read at random. The book tells the history of the countryside through the stories of five hundred of its most noteworthy villages and settlements.

On to the photos …..

Trout fishing in Bibury.
The lovely Swan Hotel.
One of the best Club Sandwiches we ever had was found in the Swan Hotel.
Snowshill Lavender.
Can you spot the bees?

The view from the top of Broadway Tower. It is said that the view surveys an expanse of up to 16 counties.
The animals round and about the tower grounds.
The Model Village of Bourton-on-the-Water.

 

Lovely shopfronts at Bourton-on-the-Water.
3 thoughts on “Villages of Britain (more of the Cotswolds charm)

Leave a Reply

