May 7th.–I love my garden. I am writing in it now in the late afternoon loveliness, much interrupted by the mosquitoes and the temptation to look at all the glories of the new green leaves washed half an hour ago in a cold shower. Two owls are perched near me, and are carrying on a long conversation that I enjoy as much as any warbling of nightingales. The gentleman owl says [[musical notes occur here in the printed text]], and she answers from her tree a little way off, [[musical notes]], beautifully assenting to and completing her lord’s remark, as becomes a properly constructed German she-owl. They say the same thing over and over again so emphatically that I think it must be something nasty about me; but I shall not let myself be frightened away by the sarcasm of owls.

Elizabeth von Arnim, Elizabeth & Her German Garden

Last Saturday, my mum and I decided that we would be the ‘local tourists’ for the day and so we headed for a stroll at the Kuala Lumpur Orchid Garden, which was just a stone’s throw from what used to be my secondary school, aeons ago.

Although the garden was not quite as ‘blooming-full’ with orchids as we had hope, still we had a rather pleasant time to just stop and smell the flowers, so to speak.

We found a really cosy green nook with benches, and it was the perfect setting to sit down and read the opening pages of Elizabeth Von Arnim’s “Elizabeth and Her German Garden”. I had it downloaded on my android phone, and made my mum read it as well, as we sat in that quietly serene, cool secluded nook. I know it’s not half as romantic as having the actual book to flip open and read there, but one has just got to make do with what one has, I guess. 😉

Guess we weren't the only ones who knew a good spot when we see one. This kitty was sleeping soundly throughout the time we were there.
And just outside the nook, we found yet another kitty enjoying an afternoon siesta, lazily preening itself.
Looking pretty among the orchids.
Lest you think that this post is turning out to be about cats, here are the orchids.

Up the garden pathway.
4 thoughts on “Stopping to smell the flowers…..

  1. Lovely photos–of cats and orchids! I loved Elizabeth and Her German Garden–the only thing that would make it better would indeed be reading it IN a garden.

    Like

Leave a Reply

