I have long heard about Cold Comfort Farm’s fame for being one of the funniest novels ever, but whenever I try to pick up the book at the bookstore and reading the blurb behind the book, or flipping through its pages, something always seem to put me off from wanting to read the book. Maybe it’s the description of the characters at Cold Comfort Farm, which didn’t seem funny or appealing to me in any way, or maybe it’s also because I find that I have a problem with reading and getting into books with dialogues that are written with a rather excessive usage of slang in them. I just can’t make them sound right in my head.

However, all that changed when I managed to come across the audiobook version of the book, narrated by the delightful Anna Massey. It wasn’t long before I found myself smiling and at times even laughing out loud at bits and parts of the book. It was especially fun to hear the grave and serious voice of cousin Judith Starkadder as well as Adam Lambsbreath’s old and frail voice bleating out “Naaayy, Robert Poste’s child” in almost every other sentence (hahah). I’m sure if I were to read the book myself with my own reading voice, I would never have gotten the nuance and tone right in those lines. And what fun I would have missed out on then!
Oh, and also who could forget the priceless names given to those farm cows – Graceless, Pointless, Feckless, and Aimless! (hahaha……)

All I want to say is, I am glad I came to Cold Comfort Farm by way of the audiobook. And for those of you who have already read the book, and possibly thinking of a re-read, you might want to consider giving the audiobook a try. It’s really jolly good! 😉

4 thoughts on “Getting to Cold Comfort Farm (at last!)

  1. How wonderful that you’ve finally discovered the joys of Cold Comfort Farm! Whenever I was sick back in my school days and had to stay home, this is the book I would curl up with. I find it endlessly entertaining and never fail to laugh out loud when I’m reading it!

    Like

  2. What a great idea–listen to an audio book when the dialogue is written in slang (or dialect). I confess I have a hard time reading through a good bit of dialect-laden dialogue. Cold Comfort Farm sounds like a great book to try. I’m going to see if my library has it.

    Like

    1. I struggle with reading through books that are filled with dialect-laden dialogue too, that’s why finding an audiobook version of Cold Comfort Farm was such a delight. Hope your library has it too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

